Forms & Links

Back to the Top

Applying For a New or Renewal License to Carry Firearms or Firearms Identification Card

Please contact Officer Jon Toomey at the Marshfield Police Station Monday - Friday 8:00am to 4:00pm at (781) 834-6655 ext. 5208 or by email for any further questions.

Some Basic changes in the law that are NOW in effect effective Jan 2015:

  • Self-defense sprays are no longer considered to be "ammunition". Persons 18 years of age or older no longer require an FID card to possess self-defense spray. Minors between 15 years of age and under 18 may possess self-defense sprays (if granted an FID card and permission from parent).
  • Persons selling chemical sprays need an ammunition dealer's license.
  • An LTC for Law Enforcement retiree is now $25.00.
  • Class B LTCs should no longer be issued.
  • Existing Class B LTCs are valid until they expire.
  • New expiration date (formerly a grace period) for expired LTC/FID - if person applies before expiration, the LTC/FID is valid until license is approved or denied.

Important Notice: On Sunday, March 15, 2015, the E-FA-10 web site will become the Massachusetts Gun Portal. Beginning on that date, firearms licensees and gun owners are required by law to report ALL private sales, transfers, and surrenders of firearms to the Massachusetts Firearms Records Bureau via the Gun Portal. Paper FA-10 forms will no longer be accepted for these transaction types. You can use the link to access the Massachusetts Gun Portal:

Effective April 1, 2004 all firearms license applications will require an appointment so that data may be electronically entered into the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System.

Also effective April 1, 2004 applicants will no longer need to provide their own photographs or completed application forms. They need only bring a check or money order for the $100 filing fee and a form of photo identification. The filing fee is waived for persons over 70 years of age and for those renewing a Class D Firearms Identification Card.

Back to the Top

Application FAQ

Important Information Regarding: Application Question #10

Have you ever appeared in any court as a defendant for any criminal offense or criminal traffic offense?

The key word is appeared, not just arrested.

Appeared: Includes all adult & juvenile charges and appearances even matters were dismissed or you were found not guilty, received a continuance, or probation, etc.

It does NOT matter if you were found not guilty, the charges were dismissed, or if you received a continuance without a finding; you must disclose it.

Having been charged and/or convicted of a crime does not necessarily prohibit you from getting a license. Not answering completely or truthfully does.

If you do not answer truthfully we will find out, no matter how long ago. If you have a sealed record you must indicate so. We are notified of disqualifiers even from a sealed record.

"I forgot", "they told me it would not show up", or "it never showed up before", excuses will not be accepted.

You are signing the application under the penalties of perjury and you may be denied a license for any untruthful answer and face the possibility of court prosecution.

Back to the Top

Overview of the Licensing Aspects of the State's Firearms Law

  1. All current Licenses To Carry firearms are valid and renewable on the expiration date shown on such licenses. Thereafter, they will be renewable every 6 years.
  2. Categories of Licenses To Carry Firearms are :
    1. Class A - Allows the holder to possess large capacity firearms, rifles, shotguns and ammunition.  Only Class A holders may carry a concealed weapon in public.
    2. Class B - Allows the holder to possess non-large capacity firearms (handguns) as well as large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition.
      (Class B holders MAY NOT carry a concealed weapon in public.)
  3. Categories of Firearms Identification Cards are:
    1. Class C - Allows the holder to possess non-large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition. Weapons must be transported unloaded and in locked trunk or otherwise encased in a locked/secured container.
      Older FID cards with "Indefinite" expiration dates are no longer valid.
  4. Properly licensed shooting clubs may have both large and non-large capacity firearms, rifles and shotguns for use by their members and guests.

Back to the Top

Fees and Requirements

A non-refundable application fee of $100.00 will apply to all Licenses To Carry and Firearms Identification card applications and renewals, with the following exceptions:

  • There is no fee for a person age 70 or over.
  • Under 18 there is a $25.00 charge for Firearms Identification Card.

Check or money order payable to the "Town of Marshfield".

Copy of Safety Course Certificate - LTC Handgun Safety Course/FID Hunter Safety Course (If you are active military, please provide documentation. This paperwork exempts you from the Safety Course Requirements.)

Applicants must submit proof of citizenship and residency.

Back to the Top

Securing Firearms

Recently, Massachusetts amended Chapter 140 (Firearms Laws) by adding Section 131L. Section 131L makes it unlawful to store or keep any firearm, shotgun or other weapon "in any place" without ensuring first that the weapon is secured in:

  1. A locked container, or
  2. Secured with a tamper resistant mechanical lock or other safety device. The safety device must render the weapon inoperable by any person other than the owner or other authorized user.

Violations of this section of law are punishable as follows:

  • Firearm, rifle or shotgun (non large capacity) - Fine of not less than $5000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year.
  • Large Capacity weapon or machine gun - Fine of not less than $1000 nor more than $10,000 or by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than ten years or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Additional penalties are provided for unlawful storage of weapons when they are kept where individuals under the age of eighteen might gain access and who do not possess a valid Firearms Identification Card. This section carries up to ten years imprisonment. Failure to properly secure the weapon in the manner provided by statute shall constitute evidence of wanton or reckless conduct in any civil or criminal proceeding.

Back to the Top