Applying for a new or renewal License to Carry Firearms or Firearms Identification Card
Effective April 1, 2004 all firearms license applications will require an appointment so that data may be electronically entered into the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System. Appointments may be made by contacting the Firearms officer Jon Toomey @ 781-834-6655 x122, Jtoomey@marshfieldpolice.org Appointments will be available during the hours of 8AM to 4PM, Monday through Friday, holidays excepted.
Also effective April 1, 2004 applicants will no longer need to provide their own photographs or completed application forms. They need only bring a check or money order for the $100 filing fee and a form of photo identification. The filing fee is waived for persons over 70 years of age and for those renewing a Class D (Mace/Pepper Spray) Firearms Identification Card.
Overview of the licensing aspects of the State's firearms law
1.~ All current Licenses To Carry firearms are valid and renewable on the expiration date shown on such licenses. ~ Thereafter, they will be renewable every Six years.
2.~ Categories of Licenses To Carry Firearms are :
Class A - Allows the holder to possess large capacity firearms, rifles, shotguns and ammunition.~ Only Class A holders may carry a concealed weapon in public.
Class B - Allows the holder to possess non-large capacity firearms (handguns) as well as large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition.~ Class B holders MAY NOT carry a concealed weapon in public.
3.~~ Categories of Firearms Identification Cards are:
Class C - Allows the holder to possess non-large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition.~ Weapons must be transported unloaded and in locked trunk or otherwise encased in a locked/secured container.
Class D -~For possession of chemical spray only.
Older FID cards with "Indefinite" expiration dates are no longer valid.
4.~ Properly licensed shooting clubs may have both large and non-large capacity firearms, rifles and shotguns for use by their members and guests.
5.~ A non-refundable application fee of $100.00 will apply to all Licenses To Carry and Firearms Identification card applications and renewals, with the following exceptions:
There is no fee for a person age 70 or over.
The first time application fee for an FID Card restricted to Chemical Agents (Class D) is $25.00
There is no fee to RENEW an FID Card that is restricted to Chemical Agents only (Class D.)
Recently, Massachusetts amended Chapter 140 (Firearms Laws) by adding Section 131L.
Section 131L makes it unlawful to store or keep any firearm, shotgun or other weapon "in any place" without ensuring first that the weapon is secured in:
1.) A locked container, or
2.) Secured with a tamper resistant mechanical lock or other safety device
The safety device must render the weapon inoperable by any person other than the owner or other authorized user.
Violations of this section of law are punishable as follows:
Firearm, rifle or shotgun (non large capacity) -~Fine of not less than $5000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year.
Large Capacity weapon or machine gun - Fine of not less than $1000 nor more than $10,000 or by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than ten years or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Additional penalties are provided for unlawful storage of weapons when they are kept where individuals under the age of eighteen might gain access and who do not possess a valid Firearms Identification Card.~ This section carries up to ten years imprisonment.~ Failure to properly secure the weapon in the manner provided by statute shall constitute evidence of wanton or reckless conduct in any civil or criminal proceeding.